Scientific Program

September 3 (Monday)

<chair: S. Suga>

8:50-9:00  opening: A. Fujimori, J. Mizuki (JAERI-SPring8)
9:00-9:30  Changyoung Kim: Effects of the bi-layer splitting on the photoemission spectra from Bi2Sr2CaCu2O8
9:30-10:00 H. Takagi and T. Sasagawa: Fingerprints of a magnetic insulator in superconducting, Na-doped Ca2CuO2Cl2 single crystals
10:00-10:30  A. Fujimori: Two-component electronic structure and shadow Fermi band in heavily underdoped La2-xSrxCuO4

10:30-10:45 coffee break
<chair: S.-I. Lee>
10:45-11:15  M. Naito: Redox reaction at surface and interface of cuprates
11:15-11:45  Kookrin Char: Proximity effect between Nb and SrRuO3

11:45-12:15  A. Chainani: Superconducting transitions in Pb and Ba1-xKxBiO3: Eliashberg analysis of photoemission spectra

12:15-13:15 lunch

<chair: K. Ueda>
13:15-13:45  D.D. Sarma: Electronic and magnetic properties of Sr2FeMoO6 and related compounds
13:45-14:15  K. Terakura, I. Solovyev, Z. Fang and J. Kanamori : Magnetic interactions in some double perovskite transition-metal oxides
14:15-14:45  H. Tabata: Three dimensionally spin control in the artificial superlattices using laser MBE method

14:45-15:00 cofee break

<chair: K. Terakura>

15:00-15:30  S. Suga: A breakthrough in photoemission spectroscopy of correlated electron systems: Bulk sensitive photoemission spectroscopy by use of soft X-ray excitation
15:30-16:00  S.-J. Oh: Photoemission and x-ray absorption study of ruthenates and alpha-like Ce compounds

 <chair: A. Fujimori>
16:00-16:30  poster preview
16:30-18:30 poster session

18:30- banquet

September 4 (Tue)

<chair: H. Takagi>
9:00-9:30  Sung-Ik Lee: Superconducting properties of Well shaped MgB2 single crystal
9:30-10:00  S. Shin: Ultrahigh-resolution photoemission study on low Tc superconductors and MgB2
10:00-10:30  Jaejun Yu: Dynamic Jahn-Teller mechanism of Superconductivity in MgB2

10:30-10:45 cofee break

<chair: S.-J. Oh>
10:45-11:15  Y. Onuki: Quasi-two dimensional Fermi surface of RTIn5 and UTGa5
11:15-11:45  Je-Geun Park: Non-Fermi liquid behavior of heavy fermion compounds
11:45-12:15  N. Metoki: Magnetic structure, phase diagram, and a new type of spin flop transition dominated by higher-order interaction in a localized 5f System U3Pd20Si6

12:15-13:15  lunch

<chair: Y. Onuki>
13:15-13:45  K. Ueda: Theory of metal-insulator transition in Pr-skutterudite compounds

13:45-14:15  Chul Koo Kim: Variational perturbation approaches to condensed matter systems
14:15-14:45  Y. Murakami: Recent development of resonant X-ray scattering for observation of orbital ordering

14:45-15:00 cofee break

<chair: J. Yu>
15:00-15:30  S. Ishihara: Theory of orbital dynamics in transition-metal oxides and their observations by resonant x-ray scattering
15-30-16:00  A. Tanaka: Resonant x-ray scattering and electronic structure of V2O3
16:00-16:10  closing: S.-J. Oh

16:15- site tour 

Posters (Sept. 3, 16:15 - 18:15)

1. Yoshinori Haga (JAERI, Tokai): Single crystal growth and high pressure study in uranium compounds

2. Etsuji Yamamoto (JAERI, Tokai): Magnetic and physical properties in UIr

3. Younghun Jo (Inha U.): Pressure-dependent studies of the reentrant superconductivity of HoNi2B2C: a comparison with DyNi2B2

4. Tetsuo Okane (JAERI, SPring-8): High-resolution photoemission spectroscopy of Yb compounds

5. Shin Imada (Osaka U.): "Heavy Fermion" behavior of Pr 4f electrons in Pr-skutterudites studied by bulk-sensitive photoemission

6. Ran Ju Jung (SNU): The Ce 3d edge XAS and REPES study of several a-like Ce-transition metal compounds

7. Kaname Kanai (RIKEN): Ultrahigh-resolution and resonant-inverse photoemission study on intermetallic Ce compounds

8. Masamitsu Watanabe (RIKEN): Polarization-dependence study of resonant soft x-ray emission spectra in Ce compounds

9. Shin-ichi Fujimori (JAERI, SPring-8): Angle-resolved photoemission study of quasi-two-dimensional Ce compounds CeRhIn5 and CeIrIn5

10. Shin-ichi Fujimori (JAERI, SPring-8): Angle-resolved photoemission study of quasi-one-dimensional halgen-bridged compound [Ni(chxn)2Br]Br

11. Mun Dae Kim (Yonsei U.): Mesoscopic Luttinger Liquid Theory in an Aharonov-Bohm Ring

12. Yusuke Azuma (JAERI, SPring8): Local structure analysis by DAFS technique on spin-ladder system of Ca14Cu24O41 thin film

13. Tatsuo Fukuda (JAERI, SPring8): Periodic hole structure in a spin chain/ladder material: Sr14Cu24O41

14. Jae Dong Lee (Tokyo U.): Spin fluctuation effects in photoemission line shape in the normal state of high Tc cuprates : anisotropies, doping dependencies, and shadow bands

15. Yoshihisa Harada (RIKEN): Zhang-Rice singlet excitation in undoped lammelar copper oxides by the soft X-ray emission spectroscopy

16. Kenji Ueda (NTT): Photoemission study of as-grown superconducting MgB2 thin films

17. Keisuke Kobayashi (RIKEN): Soft X-ray emission and photoemission spectroscopy of silicon clathlate

18. Daeshik Kim (SNU): Different spin-polarized tunneling  behavior at the Co60Fe40/AlOx  and Fe19Ni81/AlOx  interfaces

19. Hyun Jung Lee (SNU): Lattice Strain Effects on the Magnetic and Orbital Orderings in the CMR Manganites

20. Toshiya Inami (JAERI, SPring-8): Resonant Inelastic X-ray Scattering Study on the Orbital-Ordered Mott Insulator LaMnO3

21. Akira Sekiyama (Osaka U.): Bulk electronic states of strongly correlated V and Ru oxides by high-energy and high-resolution photoemission spectroscopy

22. Han-Jin Noh (SNU): Tight binding calculation and Auger-electron study of pyrochlore (Bi,Y)2Ru2O7

23. Jun Okamoto (JAERI, SPring-8): Photoemission spectroscopy of pyrochlore-type Ru oxides

24. Takashi Mizokawa (Tokyo U.) : Orbital state and metal-insulator transition in Ca2-xSrxRuO4

25. Takashi Mizokawa (Tokyo U.): Development of high-energy resolution inverse photoemission technique

26. Nozomu Kamakura (RIKEN): Angle-resolved photoemission of Ni(100) using soft x-ray

27. Yasutaka Takata (RIKEN): A UHV apparatus for soft X-ray spectroscopic studies of surfaces under total reflection condition

28. Yuji Saito (JAERI, SPring-8): Soft x-ray beamline for spectroscopy of solids at SPring-8

29. Kazutoshi Mamiya (JAERI, SPring-8): MCD beamline at Hi-SOR