G-COEHAgʍu`I, II, III: Columbia-Todai "Frontiers of Condensed Matter Physics" Course@Syllabus   Schedule


Visit to New York-Boston Program: Studentsf visit to Columbia University, Brookhaven National Laboratory, and APS March Meeting will be arranged in early March, 2012. All the students who are going fulfill the requirement of credits for the G-COE Courses are invited. Schedule and travel support

Questions to lecturers: You are encouraged to ask questions via email. They will answer via email or recorded video.

Evaluation: Participation* and a graded report to one of the lecturers for each of G-COE I, II, and III**

*When you cannot attend a classC(1) Inform Fujimori of absence, (2) Watch the downloaded video by yourself, (3) Inform Fujimori of having watched video. To get the download URL, please send an email to Fujimori.

**Marked by the Columbia lecturers. Send the report to the lecturer (cc to Fujimori).

 Deadline: G-COE I: November 30, G-COE II: January 10, G-COE III: February 12 (M2 and D3 students)/February 28 (others)

Contact: A. Fujimori fujimori_at_phys.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp, K. Kanoda kanoda_at_ap.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp, Y. J. Uemura tomo_at_lorentz.phys.columbia.edu


G-COEHAgʍu` I

Philip Kim: gLow dimensional carbon systems (graphene, carbon nano-tube)h (chair: A. Fujimori)

October 17 (Mon) 14:45-16:15, 16:30-18:00, October 18 (Tue) 16:30-18:00, Room#201b

Tony Heinz: gLaser and optical studies of grapheneh (chair: H. Aoki)

October 24 (Mon) 14:45-16:15, 16:30-18:00, Room#201b

-- Recitation class – Rafael Fernandes gSymmetry of superconducting order parameters etc,h

     October 25 (Tue) 16:30-18:00, Room#201b (Dr. Fernandes visits Tokyo University and gives us a lecture. Attendance optional)

@@G-COE Seminar by Rafael Fernandes [October 27 (Thu), 14:00- (chair: A. Fujimori)]

Yasutomo Uemura: gPhenomenology and MuSR studies of unconventional superconductorsh (chair: S. Uchida)

November 7 (Mon) 14:45-16:15, 16:30-18:00, November 8 (Tue) 16:30-18:00, Room#201b

G-COEHAgʍu` II

Paul Chaikin (NYU): gSoft Condensed Matterh (chair: S. Miyashita)

   November 14 (Mon) 14:45-16:15, 16:30-18:00 Room#201a, November 22 (Tue) 16:30-18:00, Room#201b

Abhay Pasupathy: gTunneling, scanning, and transport studies of correlated electron systems and grapheneh (chair: H. Fukuyama)

November 28 (Mon) 14:45-16:15, 16:30-18:00, November 29 (Tue) 16:30-18:00, Room#201b

Andy Millis: gDynamical Mean Field Theory / Quantum phase transitionsh (chair: M. Ogata)

   December 5 (Mon) 14:45-16:15, 16:30-18:00, Room#201b

John Hill (BNL): gInelastic X-ray scatteringh (chair: A. Fujimori)

   December 6 (Tue) 16:30-18:00, Room#201b

G-COEHAgʍu` III

Simon Billinge: gX-ray scattering studies of local correlationsh (chair: T. Mizokawa)

   December 12 (Mon) 14:45-16:15, 16:30-18:00, Room#201b

Martin Greven (U of Minnesota): gNeutron scattering studies of cupratesh (chair: S. Uchida)

   December 13 (Tue) 16:30-18:00, Room#201b

Latha Venkataraman: gSingle-molecule conductorsh (chair: K. Kanoda)

   December 19 (Mon) 14:45-16:15, Room#201b

Rich Osgood: "ARPES studies of nano structure systems" (chair: K. Kanoda)

December 19 (Mon) 16:30-18:00, Room#201b

Aron Pinczuk: gExcited states of quantum Hall systemsh (chair: H. Aoki)

   January 16 (Mon) 14:45-16:15, 16:30-18:00, Room#233

Igor Aleiner: gAnderson localization in mesoscopic systemsh (chair: M. Ogata)

   January 23 (Mon) 14:45-16:15, 16:30-18:00, Room#201b

Oleg Tchernyshyov (Johns Hopkins U): gDomain wall motion and Skyrmionsh (chair: S. Miyashita)

January 24 (Tue) 16:30-18:00, Room#233

 G-COE Special Lecture

Zahid Hasan (Princeton U): gARPES and topological Insulatorsh (chair: A. Fujimori)

   January 30 (Mon) 14:45-16:15, 16:30-18:00CRoom#233